Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.


Leyburn Primary School Local Governing Body

Roles and Responsibilities

As a Governing Body, we have a responsibility to support and monitor how the pupils at Leyburn Primary School are educated, ensure that we make best use of the resources we are provided with and help, develop and monitor the School Development Plan so that every child receives the best possible education.

In all schools, the three core strategic functions of the Local Governing Body are:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure money is well spent.

Governance Arrangements

The Local Governing Body is made up of:

The headteacher

1 Staff Governor

2 Parent Governors

Up to 5 Co-opted Governors


We have a programme of meetings throughout the school year, copies of the signed minutes of previous meetings showing attendance at these meetings are available for public viewing and are held at the school. Currently, our clerk is Julie Symons. 

Leyburn Primary School Governing Body – membership

Currently, we are made up of the following members:


Governor Name Category of Governor   Term of office expiry date
Sarah Beveridge                                Headteacher                                               N/A
Marina Briggs Parent Governor 01/11/2019
Matt Dilworth Co-opted Governor 08/07/2022
Sarah Salonga Staff Governor  
Paul Roberts Co-opted Governor 08/07/2022
Lynn Ward Co-opted Governor 09/07/2022

We have vacancies for a Parent Governor and up to 2 Co-opted Governors.


Please click here for information about governance at the Trust level of YCAT. 

Our Governors

Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?