Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Welcome to Leyburn Primary School's website. Please keep looking for updates.








What is a Governing Body?

In 1983 the Government passed legislation saying that every school should have a Governing Body who, as a group, would hold the responsibility of overseeing the management of the school. Rather like a business, the Head Teacher is the managing director responsible to a board of directors (the Governors).


Such things as setting the school budget - school development planning and agreeing policies for sex education, behaviour and discipline, health and safety. As Leyburn is a maintained school, the Governors are not the employers, but have input into discipline and grievance and pay. The local authority manage the admission procedures for pupils.

How often do the Governors meet?

We meet once a month as the  full Governing Body has made the decision to remove sub-committees. In this way, all governors are fully informed throughout the year without replicating the work of the sub-committees.

Who can be a Governor?

The Head Teacher

One member of staff

Three parents who are elected by parents through a ballot to ensure a parent’s perspective.

Four co-opted governors

One LA governor.

You would serve for a fixed period of time - presently this is set at four years, but of course, you may resign at an earlier point.

What is the cost?

Time! Governors are public-spirited people who give their time and skills for free. However, there is much satisfaction to be gained from being involved in the organisation of an effective school.

List of Governors

Chair                    Paul Roberts  (Co-opted)

Vice Chair            TBA

Clerk                    Beverly Smeeton

LA                        Alan Millar

Parent                  Lynn Ward

Parent                  Joanne Benson

Parent                  Marina Briggs

Co-opted              Emma Dinsdale

Co-opted              Matt Dilworth

Co-opted              Emma Clements

Headteacher        Sarah Beveridge

Staff Governor      Lucy Hall

Our Governors

Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?